Home » Family » Daddy’s Girl

Daddy’s Girl

I’m Daddy’s Girl. Always have been. My dad quit smoking the day he and my mom brought me home from the hospital. He never took another puff (now that’s will power). But hey, I was his precious little girl. 

I have fond childhood memories of sitting on my dad’s lap, listening to him tell stories. Taking road trips, being allowed to sit in the front seat next to him, and then singing at the top of our lungs to the Camelot soundtrack – he was King Arthur, of course. Or sometimes it was The Fiddler on the Roof … I can still hear our voices: “If I were a rich man, ya ha deedle deedle, bubba bubba deedle deedle dum”.

I have memories of my brother and me wrestling with my dad on the living room floor. Or my dad making waffles for breakfast on a random Sunday morning.

My dad taught me how to ride a bike and drive a car. He showed me how to change a flat tire. How to balance a checkbook and how to use a computer. He taught me to take care of myself. He taught me to respect myself.  My dad told me that if a man hit me, even once, that I should leave him. And that no matter what, I could always come back home.

Throughout my life, whenever I felt overwhelmed or things felt out of control – usually after days of little or no sleep, or when I couldn’t eat much due to stress; I’d end up calling my dad, crying. He’d stop whatever he was doing, drive to my house (whether I lived 20 minutes or an hour away) and take me out for a milkshake. And we sit and talk. He knew that the milkshake would be easy on my stomach. And somehow I always felt better afterward. I’ve had a “few” milkshakes with my dad over the years.

I say “I’m Daddy’s Girl”, but if you were to ask any of my three sisters, they’d each say they were Daddy’s Girl. That’s just the kind of dad we have. Each of us felt like we were Daddy’s Girl. Granted we were born far enough apart that it gave us each the time we needed with our dad. But I really don’t think that’s it entirely.

Our dad is the kind of person that made you feel like you were the center of the universe.  He would do anything for anyone. He’s the kind of person who stops on the side of the freeway to change a stranger’s tire.  And it seems like he’s always fixing someone’s computer or repairing someone’s car. 

It’s cute because all of us girls think our dad is so smart. Our poor husbands and boyfriends have to contend with measuring up to “Dad”. According to us, our dad knows everything and can fix anything. I’m sure it’s been the subject of one or two arguments over the years.

The importance of a good relationship between a father and daughter has been shown in study after study.  According to Dr. Meg Meeker, author of Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters: 10 Secrets Every Father Should Know  “the bond between fathers and their daughters is a very special one.”

Dr. Meeker also brings out that a girl’s first experience of love with her father puts a template over her heart on what male love is all about. “If she has a bad experience when she is young,” Dr. Meeker says, “she is going to be very put off by all male figures in her life. That’s the power of a dad.”

Our dad has had a very powerful effect on all of us girls. I’m so happy to have been raised in a loving two parent household with a wonderful Mother and Father. And I love them both dearly. But I do believe it’s true, there is a special confidence that a girl gains from having a positive relationship with her father.

So I am happy to be a “Daddy’s Girl” and I’m honored to share the title of Daddy’s Girl with all my sisters. 

I love you Daddy!

4 thoughts on “Daddy’s Girl

  1. Many things I can relate to and also many differences that I can picture and it touches me! I can imagine the singing and it makes me think of my family singing and dancing to thriller while cleaning up the dinner table and I also fondly remember patsy cline playing in my mom’s station wagon. Thanks for sharing and thanks for reminding me of good memories.

Leave a Reply

