Home » Lifetime » anything less than extraordinary just isn’t worth it!

anything less than extraordinary just isn’t worth it!

I feel terrific! I’m full of energy and enthusiastic about my life and the possibilities that lie ahead. As I decided just about a month ago, I’ve been challenging myself to do something new everyday, even if it’s as simple as taking a different route to work, or ordering something new on the menu. And I am having a ball! I’ve been trying so many new things that I feel like a new person.

The first thing I did, in fact, the day I wrote my last post, was take an impromptu trip to the snow, all by myself.  It was beautiful, the sun was shining, there were just a few white clouds breaking up the blue sky, creating the perfect balance with the freshly powered mountainside and pine trees. I had to pull over and take a few pictures. I was feeling so great about making the trip; then I decided to find a place to have lunch.

I missed an exit that looked like it had some restaurants, so I kept driving, thinking “I’ll just get off at the next exit”.  But then there was no next exit, or at least not for what felt like a VERY long time. I was driving on Hwy 50, and within 30 seconds of passing a snowplow, the highway switched from four lanes down to a two lane windy road (one lane in each direction) and a slushy snow started to build up on the road.  At this point I am white-knuckling it just hoping to find a place to turn around, and soon. 

Finally I came upon an exit. There weren’t any restaurants, but there was a cool looking snow park with families sledding down the hill and building snowmen. For a minute I got excited and thought about stopping and playing in the snow myself, perhaps making a snow angel.  A big grin appeared on my face at the thought of it, but then I noticed a lot of snow in the parking area, so I decided not to chance it since I did not have four-wheel drive or chains. I just turned around and drove back to the exit where I had seen some businesses. 

After another few minutes of careful driving I exited the highway and noticed a Mexican restaurant located in the back section of a shopping center. As I drove in what appeared to be a plowed parking lot, I soon discovered that not to be the case. And it seemed the further I drove the deeper the snow became. Granted it was only a couple of inches, but then I noticed that the parking lot was not flat. I couldn’t find a parking space anywhere and in order to get out, I had to follow the path around and up a hill. I knew exactly what was going to happen next.  And let me tell you, it was pretty hilarious when my car got stuck in the snow just as I turned the corner in front of the restaurant. I had one moment when I thought  “Oh my, am I going to have to call my road service company to tow me out of this mess?” I stepped out of my car to check out the situation and I noticed a couple of men standing near by, watching me. At first they gave me a suggestion on how I should turn my wheels this way or that way, to get better traction; but I said, “Oh I tried that, it’s not working.”  So they walked over, along with a third gentleman who also noticed my dilemma, and the three of them pushed my car as I drove out of the snowy rut with a big smile on my face, waving and thanking them for their chivalry.  (No, the lesson is not lost on me, I should have stopped and played at the snow park like I WANTED to.)

Every week since I’ve done something that pushes my limits a little, and I’ll tell you what, I’m really starting to feel like I can do anything. Okay, not anything. I’m still not going to jump out of an airplane. I have no desire to do that.  But I’m not NOT going to do something that I WANT to do, just because I’m a little fearful about it. (I will, however, plan better, i.e., bring chains the next time I head up to the snow.)

Also because of this, I feel that it’s prompted me to take action on some other things in my life that I have put on the back burner, or have just been avoiding because it would make me uncomfortable if I did take action.

Right now I’m really proud of what I’ve done in less than a month and I plan to keep this momentum going in the new year. I’m excited about the things I will be accomplishing next, because I plan to challenge myself even more. And I know the bigger challenge the greater the reward.

So here’s to living my dream life – because anything less than extraordinary just isn’t worth it!

4 thoughts on “anything less than extraordinary just isn’t worth it!

  1. What a great solo experience! I love those kind of memories because they are something you have for only you, and no one else. I’m doing the same thing in my life right now, too. Not letting invisible boundaries stop me from doing the things I really want to do in my life. Good post!

  2. A solo trip to the snow! WHoa so impressed and inspired. I never would have thought to do that, but I definitely know the value in doing something new on your own. Completely agree with your message-sometimes just need a reminder. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention anything less than extraordinary just isn’t worth it! « Reason.Season.Lifetime. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

