Home » Exercise » Couch to 5K

Couch to 5K

I’ve always wanted to run a 5K but I just didn’t know how to do it without injuring myself in the process. It seems like I start out strong, but after a few days I am really sore or have such pain in my knees that I give up before I reach my goal.

Most successful runners have a training program in order to achieve their distance goals. Well last night I found something really cool, it’s a podcast that you can download onto your iPod and it guides you – week by week – through the training process. You just start the podcast and do what it tells you to do.

This training program coaches you to go from the couch to running a 5K in 8 weeks. I’m starting the program and will test it out to see how it works for someone who can’t run for more than a few blocks without feeling wiped out.

For those of you who want to join me in this process, just go to the iTunes store and do a search for 5K101 and subscribe to the pod cast. Then download each podcast and start with Week 1. These 5K training podcasts are set to high energy music; and include low, medium and high impact interval run drills. For more information on this program, please visit their website http://www.5K101.com.

Leave a Reply

