Home » Exercise » Couch to 5K: Week 2 Day 1

Couch to 5K: Week 2 Day 1

“Ouch” is the word of the day for Week 2 Day 1.

Yesterday I started Week 2 of my 5K training program – using the Running Mate Media podcast as my coach. Again, following a 5-minute walking warm up, I started my first jogging period. However, in Week 2 the program increases the jogging/running time from 2 minutes to 2.5 minutes, and decreases the walking time from 3 minutes to 2.5 minutes.  You wouldn’t think that would make that big of a difference, but let me tell you – it does!

By the 2nd jogging interval, my calf muscles were really tightening up and starting to hurt. With the encouragement of the coach telling me I only hade one minute left in this segment I tried to keep jogging, but soon the pain was so strong that I had to stop and stretch for a minute or two in order to continue. I wasn’t sure I was going to make it through the next jogging interval; but I persisted and thought, perhaps if I increase my stride a bit  it might help the muscle ache. It seems counter intuitive, but it actually helped. My pain went away, I was running faster and I was able to finished the full 30 minute session.

Increasing the amount of time running also increased my distance from 1 mile (week 1) to 1.5 miles, in basically the same amount of time (in week 1 the program is 27 minutes).

I stretched more when I returned home and drank a lot water the rest of the day –  two pieces of advice I received from a friend who regularly runs half and full marathons.

I felt fantastic the rest of the day – I was in a great mood and I had a ton of energy.  I’m really loving this program!  Thanks 5K101.com !!

Leave a Reply

